If you’ve been invited to Buffer as a user of an organization, you may have access to their publishing and analytics tools, depending on the organization’s subscription plan.
If you are set up as an Admin, you will also have permission to connect or refresh your organization’s channels. Team members without admin roles cannot connect or refresh channels.
By default, you also have your own personal Buffer account with a personal organization. You may choose to connect your own channels to the publishing tool under the Publish Free plan. In this case, when connecting or refreshing a channel, it’s important to make sure you're working within the right organization.
To see your organizations, click the drop arrow next to your profile avatar to open the menu. From there, select the correct organization. Once selected, your dashboard will refresh and those channels will now be accessible to you.
After you’ve selected the correct organization, you can now connect or refresh the social channels.
Locked channels or losing access to Buffer tools
If you notice that some of the channels you have access to have been locked, this will likely be because the owner of the Publish Business plan downgraded their account. When a plan is downgraded, the account is moved to the Publish Free plan, on which fewer channels are allowed, and additional users are not supported. This is the reason those channels become locked for you.
When a plan is downgraded, you will also lose access to other Buffer tools like analytics.
In these cases, you should chat to the Publish Business plan owner and see if they had intentionally downgraded the account. It’s possible they didn’t know that downgrading their account would stop you from being able to access those channels or tools.