Refreshing a channel in Buffer

Connections between Buffer and your social channels require access tokens, which can expire for several reasons, including a password change or a preset access token lifespan. Learn best practices for keeping your channels connected here.

While it can be frustrating to lose connection when the access token disconnects, it's normal behavior and is usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure.

In this article:

  1. Refreshing your channel
  2. Reauthorizing your channel

Refreshing your channel

  1. In Buffer, click on your profile avatar at the top right of your dashboard and then click Account from the drop-down menu.
  2. Click the Channels option from the menu on the left hand side of your screen.
  3. Click Refresh next to the channel that is expired.
The refresh-channel button in Buffer's connection area
Refreshing your channels in Buffer
  1. You'll be prompted to enter your login details and after that, you should be all set.

📝 For Facebook groups, you must be logged into the Facebook profile that originally connected the group and your personal Facebook profile must be an admin on the group. For Facebook Pages, you must be logged into the personal Facebook profile that has the admin role on the Page. For Instagram, you must be logged into the Instagram business account that you wish to refresh within Buffer.

  1. If you have any failed posts in your publishing queue, you can now go ahead and retry them. Clicking Re-add to Queue will add your post to the next available time slot according to your posting schedule. Clicking Retry Now will publish your post immediately.

Reauthorizing your channel

As previously mentioned, a simple refresh won't always do the trick and your channel will instead need to be fully reauthorized. Follow the steps in the relevant section below to reauthorize your channel. These steps should be followed on desktop.

Facebook and Instagram

  1. Follow the steps in this guide to reauthorize the connection between Buffer and Facebook / Instagram.

LinkedIn

  1. Head over to your LinkedIn account, click on your profile image in the top right corner, and then click Settings & Privacy.
  2. Click on Data Privacy on the left hand side, then click Other Applications.
  3. Click on Permitted Services (you can also click this link to go directly there). You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click Remove.
  4. Then, head back over to Buffer and try refreshing your LinkedIn account again, ensuring you accept all permissions during the authorization process. Your personal LinkedIn profile will either need to be the owner of the page or alternatively have the "Super Page Admin" role in order to reauthorize the connection.

📝 If multiple LinkedIn pages were authorized through your own personal LinkedIn profile, refreshing one of them should also refresh the rest.

X/Twitter

  1. Head over to your X/Twitter account, click More on the left panel of the dashboard and then choose Settings and Privacy from the menu that appears.
  2. Click on Apps and Sessions under the Data and Permissions area.
  3. You should then see a list of apps. Locate Buffer and click Revoke Access.
  4. Then, head back over to Buffer and try refreshing your X/Twitter account again, ensuring your accept all permissions during the authorization process.

Pinterest

  1. Head over to your Pinterest account, click on the arrow at the top left of your account and then click on Settings.
  2. From there, click Apps on the left hand side (you can also click this link to go directly there).
  3. You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click Revoke access.
  4. Then, head back over to Buffer and try refreshing your Pinterest account again, ensuring your accept all permissions during the authorization process.

YouTube

  1. Head to https://myaccount.google.com/connections
  2. Find Buffer listed in total apps and services. 
  3. Click Buffer.
  4. Click Delete all connections that you have with Buffer. 
  5. Once the connection has been deleted, head back to Buffer to try refreshing the connection. 
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Get in touch Get in touch