Reauthorizing the connection between Buffer and Facebook or Instagram

In certain situations, Buffer will need to be removed from Business Integrations in Facebook in order for you to re-establish the authorization between Buffer and Facebook. This may be needed if your Facebook or Instagram account becomes disconnected, if we can't find a specific Facebook Page or Group you're looking to connect, or if you encounter an "unknown" error or any permissions errors.

Reauthorizing your Facebook or Instagram account will not remove any posts already in your Queue in Buffer Publish. These steps only re-establish your connection.

Removing Buffer from Business Integrations in Facebook and reauthorizing the connection

  1. Head over to Facebook and navigate to Settings and then Business integrations (or click this link).

  2. You should see Buffer listed in the integrations area. This will need to be removed in order to continue. Tick the check box and then click Remove.

  3. A window will pop up asking if you want to remove Buffer with a check box at the bottom. Leave the check box unticked and then click Remove.

  4. Then, head back over to to Publish or Analyze and try your connection again. When you are reconnecting your Facebook or Instagram account, please be sure to accept all permissions and all pages during the authorization process.

    • Reconnecting in Publish
      • Click Manage Social Accounts, then click Reconnect next to the account you are trying to reconnect.
      • If you are connecting a new Facebook account, please follow the steps in this guide.
    • Reconnecting in Analyze
      • Click Manage Accounts at the bottom left of your dashboard. Alternatively, click on your profile avatar at the top right of your dashboard and then click on Settings.
      • The Analyze settings area will open in a new tab. Click the circular refresh icon next to the account you need to reconnect and follow the on-screen prompts.

Additional guidance

Removing Buffer from Business Integrations in Facebook will disconnect any Facebook Pages and Instagram accounts you currently have connected to Buffer Publish. If multiple Facebook Pages have become disconnected, and they were authorized through your own personal Facebook Profile, reconnecting one of them should also reconnect the rest. The access tokens work differently for Instagram accounts so, unfortunately, if you have multiple Instagram accounts that have become disconnected, each Instagram account will need to be reconnected individually.

In order to reconnect a Facebook Page, your personal Facebook Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" role. Although it's possible to connect Facebook Pages if you have the "Page Editor" role, it is not possible to reconnect them with this level of permission.

When reconnecting an Instagram account, please ensure you are logging into your personal Facebook Profile that has the Admin Role on the Facebook Page connected to your Instagram Business Profile.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 34 found this helpful