Reconnecting a social account in Buffer Publish

Social accounts will become disconnected from time to time. Whilst this can be frustrating, it's good to keep in mind that this is normal behaviour and is usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure.

Connections between Buffer Publish and your social accounts require access tokens, which can expire for a number of reasons, including password changes and explicit lifespans of an access token. Learn best practices for keeping your social accounts connected here.

Most commonly, social accounts only require a simple reconnection. However, on some occasions, a simple reconnect won't do the trick, and instead your social account will need to be fully reauthorized.

Reconnecting your social account

Desktop iOS Android
  1. Click Manage Social Accounts at the bottom of the left hand side bar.

  2. Click Reconnect to the right of the social account you need to reconnect.

  3. You'll be prompted to enter your login details and after that, you should be all set.

  4. If you have any failed posts in your Queue, you can now go ahead and retry them. Clicking Re-add to Queue will add your post to the next available time slot according to your Posting Schedule. Clicking Retry Now will publish your post immediately.

Reauthorizing your social account

As previously mentioned, a simple reconnect won't always do the trick and your social account will instead need to be fully reauthorized. Follow the steps in the relevant section below to reauthorize your social account. These steps should be followed on desktop.

Facebook and Instagram accounts

  1. Follow the steps in this guide to reauthorize the connection between Buffer and Facebook.

LinkedIn accounts

  1. Head over to your LinkedIn account, click on your profile image in the top right corner, and then click Settings & Privacy.
  2. Click on Partners & Services on the left hand side.
  3. Click on Permitted Services (you can also click this link to go directly there). You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click Remove.
  4. Then, head back over to Publish and try reconnecting your LinkedIn account again, ensuring your accept all permissions during the authorization process.

Notes

  • In order to reconnect a LinkedIn Page, your personal LinkedIn Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" role.
  • If multiple LinkedIn Pages have become disconnected, and they were authorised through your own personal LinkedIn Profile, reconnecting one of them should also reconnect the rest.

Pinterest accounts

  1. Head over to your Pinterest account, click on the three vertical dots at the top left of your account and then click on Edit settings.
  2. From there, click Apps on the left hand side (you can also click this link to go directly there).
  3. You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click Revoke access.
  4. Then, head back over to Publish and try reconnecting your Pinterest account again, ensuring your accept all permissions during the authorization process.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 7 found this helpful