Insights on sent posts within the Publish dashboard

The Posts report under the Sent tab within your publishing dashboard (next to Queue) provides a history of all of your published posts. Looking at your posts individually allows you to draw comparisons and see patterns around which posting times are working best for you and what type of content your audience is most engaged with.

Arrow pointing to the sent button in the Buffer dashboard

In this article:

  1. Report features
  2. Performance metrics
  3. How to share posts again
  4. How to add Notes to shared posts
  5. Common questions

Report features

The features within the Posts report differ depending on if you have a Free or a paid plan, as shown in the table below.

  Free plan All paid plans
History of posts 30 days Full history*
Analytics on posts
Share Again feature

*TikTok's API doesn't share how far back we can pull data. We pull as many posts as we can from your post history.

Performance metrics

The table below provides an overview of which performance metrics are available for each channel.

  Likes Clicks Comments Shares Reach Impressions Other
Instagram business accounts    
LinkedIn Pages

(Paid plans only)

 ✓ (Engagement Rate - Paid plans only)



Pinterest business accounts

(Saves)


 ✓
 

(Paid plans only)

(Reactions - Paid plans only)

Mastodon ✓(Favorites)  

(Reblogs)

   
X/Twitter ✓ (Paid plans only) ✓ (Paid plans only)  

(Reposts - Paid plans only)

 

(Paid plans only)


TikTok  

(Paid plans only)

(Paid plans only)



Facebook

(Paid plans only)

(Paid plans only; not available for group posts)



YouTube



✓ (Views)

Insights on shared posts within your publishing dashboard

Metric descriptions

Likes The number of likes your post received.
Clicks The number of clicks your post received.
Comments The number of comments on your post.
Shares The number of times your post was shared.
Reach The number of unique people who saw your post.
Views The number of times a user intentionally starts watching a video and watches for at least 30 seconds.
Reblog The number of times your post was shared.

How to share posts again

With so much content on social media now, posts can easily get missed and lost in the flow, and we understand that you need to get maximum visibility. The Share Again feature allows you to add published posts back into your queue to share a second time. Due to social networks becoming much stricter on the duplication of content, we recommend using this feature lightly, and making changes to your post text or image before sharing them multiple times. You can find guidance on resharing posts in the article: Is it possible to schedule one post to repeat multiple times?

Share Again button in the Sent area of Buffer's publishing dashboard

How to add Notes to shared posts

📝 Want to collaborate on your posts and drafts? Click the speech bubble icon in the upper right corner (kind of like this: 💬) to create a Note. Learn more about Collaborating on content with Notes in Buffer.

Common questions

What could cause discrepancies between the data seen on Buffer and LinkedIn Analytics?

Are native posts included in the Posts report?

We’re able to pull in native posts for Facebook, Instagram, Mastodon, Pinterest, and LinkedIn Pages for Free customers. 
On our paid plans, we pull in native posts for Facebook, Instagram, Mastodon, LinkedIn Pages, Pinterest, and X/Twitter.

How far back does the data go?

  • On the Free plan, you'll see a history of posts from the past 30 days.
  • On our paid plans, you'll see a history of posts from the past 2 years.
  • When you subscribe to a paid plan, or if you connect a new Facebook, Instagram, or X/Twitter account and you're already subscribed to a paid plan, we will backfill the past 200 native posts.
  • For Mastodon, we will backfill the past 50 native posts.
  • For Pinterest, we will backfill the past 250 native pins from up to 1000 boards.
  • Please note that we'll show posts that have been sent since you added your social channel to Buffer.

Will deleted posts still appear in the Posts report?

Yes. The Posts report is a record of all posts sent through Buffer, so a post will still appear in the Posts report even if the published post has been deleted on the social network.

📝 Want to collaborate on your posts and drafts? Click the speech bubble icon in the upper right corner (kind of like this: 💬) to create a Note. Learn more about Collaborating on content with Notes in Buffer.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Get in touch Get in touch