Browse by Topic

Connecting and managing channels on the Buffer mobile app

📝 Looking for the web versions of the connecting your channels, removing a channel, or refreshing a channel articles?

This article contains the following sections:

  1. Connecting a channel
  2. Removing a channel
  3. Refreshing a channel

Connecting a channel

Connecting your social channels is the first step to getting up and running with Buffer. The number of channels you can connect will depend on the plan you're subscribed to.

  1. Tap on the menu icon in the upper left of your screen.

  2. Tap Add a new Account.
    Buffer mobile app - add a new account 
  3. Tap on the type of channel you'd like to connect. 
  4. Enter your login details if prompted and accept all permissions to encourage a long-lasting connection. 

Removing a channel

  1. Tap the menu icon at the top left of your screen.
  2. Select the channel you'd like to remove.
  3. Tap the Settings icon at the bottom right of your screen.
  4. From the channel settings, tap Remove this Channel.
    Buffer mobile app - Remove this channel
  5. Tap Remove to confirm.

Refreshing a channel

When you connect a channel to Buffer, it creates an access token, which is like a key that the social network grants to Buffer, giving us permission to post on your behalf and pull in your analytics and comments.

Access tokens can expire for a number of reasons, including password changes, spam detection, and time-based lifespans set up by the social networks. While this can be frustrating, it’s important to remember that this is normal behavior and usually the result of the social network making updates to keep your account safe. Learn best practices for keeping your social channels connected here.

  1. Tap on the menu icon in the upper left of your screen.
  2. Select the channel you'd like to refresh. 
  3. Tap the Settings icon at the bottom right of your screen.
  4. Tap Refresh this Channel connection. 
    Buffer mobile app - Refresh this Channel connection
  5. Enter your login details, accept all permissions, and tap Authorize app.
  6. You should now be all set and can retry any failed posts in your queue.

If your account still appears to have an expired access token, you may need to reauthorize Buffer within the social network itself to re-establishing the connection. You'll find the steps to reauthorize Buffer through the social network here, which are best completed on a desktop computer.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 3 found this helpful