Instagram offers two types of professional accounts — business accounts (for brands and organizations) and creator accounts (for public figures, artists, and influencers). If you’re unsure which type of Instagram account you have, please see here. Direct scheduling within Publish is only supported for business accounts, not for creator accounts.
Can I connect a creator account?
Whilst it’s possible to connect a creator account if it’s linked to a Facebook page, unfortunately, due to API limitations, we won’t be able to publish any posts automatically and they will fail with the following error:
Uh-oh! It doesn't look like Instagram is seeing the profile as a business account. You can find info on how to fix this in our FAQ or get in touch and we'll be glad to help!
If you’d prefer to stick with a creator account, we would recommend disabling direct scheduling to force all posts to be scheduled as reminders. This way, you can avoid bumping into the error mentioned above.
Will my creator account be removed when you discontinue support for personal profiles in October?
In October, 2020, we will discontinue support for Instagram personal profiles, as outlined here. Any creator accounts connected without direct scheduling set up will also be removed, since Buffer is unable to recognize these as professional accounts. Here’s what we recommend:
- If you have direct scheduling set up: Buffer will recognize it as a professional account and it will not be removed. However, as mentioned above, any posts scheduled to be published automatically will continue to fail with an error unless you disable direct scheduling, causing those posts to go through as reminders. Whilst the account won’t be removed when we discontinue support for personal profiles, we would strongly recommend that you convert to a business account in order to take advantage of all of our Instagram features including direct scheduling (automatic publishing). Learn how to do this here.
- If you do not have direct scheduling set up: Buffer will recognize it as a personal profile and it will be removed in October. In order to keep your account connected, you must either:
- Follow all of the steps in this guide to convert to a business account and set up direct scheduling. This is the option we recommend.
- Follow the steps here to set up direct scheduling and then disable it to use reminders only. (Setting up direct scheduling is what will trigger Buffer to recognize it as a professional account, which is why you need to set up direct scheduling even though you’ll later disable it.)