Browse by Topic

Refund policy

Every now and then, due to business changes or other conditions, we need to rethink which tools we use. Buffer’s flexible pricing allows you to add or remove social channels (and therefore, cost), whenever you need. However, if that’s not an option, we’d love to do our best to make the transition out of your Buffer subscription as smooth as it can be.

This article contains the following sections:

  1. How to cancel your Buffer subscription
  2. Important details to note about refunds
  3. How to request a refund
  4. What to expect if provided a refund

How to cancel your Buffer subscription

You're free to cancel your subscription at any point in your journey. You can do so by following our instructions in the article, "How to cancel your Buffer subscription or delete your account". In addition to canceling, you might also be curious about our policy for issuing refunds. Before requesting a refund, please read this article fully.

Important details to note about refunds

While our terms state that all fees are non-refundable, we are able to offer a refund for payments made within the last 60 days if your account had no activity during that time.

The bullet points below share a few instances for which we don’t provide refunds. This is not an all-inclusive list.

  • Charges past 60 days (monthly or annual). We realize that sometimes charges can go unnoticed but we hold our customers responsible for canceling unwanted subscriptions.
  • Social channel purchases from the Billing area of your account. Charges for channels made from the Billing or Channels areas of your account (or from the mobile app) are non-refundable even if unused. If you find you've purchased too many channels, make sure to remove the additional channel slots so that you aren't charged for them again.
  • Charges during a period in which your Buffer account showed activity.
  • Technical issues or outages that affected your account.
  • Charges made to an expired card (it is your bank's decision whether or not to charge an expired card -- Buffer and our credit card processor aren't part of that decision).

📝 A refund does not necessarily result in subscription cancellation. If you'd like to cancel your subscription to ensure that you no longer incur charges, please follow the instructions in this article: "How to cancel your Buffer subscription or delete your account".

How to request a refund

If your circumstance falls outside of the above bullet points, you can send a request through this form using the email address connected to your Buffer account. In your request, it’s important to provide a few pieces of information.

  • The reason you are requesting the refund.
  • The last 4 digits of the credit card you have on file with Buffer.
  • The expiration date of the credit card you have on file with Buffer.

These components will be the security checks we need to look into your account, and a refund can’t be provided without them. 

📝 The submission of this information does not guarantee a refund. It's important that you have access to the email inbox for the email address connected to your Buffer account, as our support team might come back requesting more information.

What to expect if provided a refund

If you're canceling a monthly subscription and the refund is approved, you will receive a refund for a maximum of two monthly payments depending on your circumstances, as listed above.

If you're canceling an annual subscription within 60 days, you'll receive a full refund. If at the time you reached out it's 61 or more days past the purchase of your annual plan, your purchase will be non-refundable. In both cases, please make sure to proceed with canceling your plan so that you aren't charged again.

A few other notes:

  • Refunds are not guaranteed per our legal terms.
  • Refunds will always be returned to the original card used to make the payment--we are unable to send refunds to any other payment method.
  • It usually takes between 5-10 business days for the refund to show on your bank statement.
  • If the refund is made before the charge is authorized by your bank, it will be sent back as a reversal instead. This means the charge will drop off your bank statement or the original charge will be adjusted to reflect the refund.
Was this article helpful?
59 out of 115 found this helpful