The drafts area in the Buffer publishing dashboard is a great spot to jot down ideas for posts, as well as create posts that you'd like to submit for approval. The option to request approval on drafts, as well as the ability to approve draft posts, will depend on permissions, which are described within this guide.
⭐️ Drafts and approvals are available on our Essentials plan with the Team Pack add-on. Learn more about our plans and pricing here.
This article contains the following sections:
In the video below, Katie, from our Customer Advocacy team, will walk you through the steps to manage your draft posts, as well as how to use Buffer to collaborate with your team through the approval process.
Creating draft posts in the publishing dashboard
All users with access to social channels, regardless of permissions, are able to create draft posts.
Head to the Drafts tab and open the composer. Create your post as you usually would within the queue. Guidance on media options can be found here.
Once your draft post is ready, you'll have a few scheduling options:
- Add to Drafts (default): Your post will be saved at the bottom of your drafts list.
- Share Next: Your post will be saved at the top of your drafts list and once it's moved to the queue, it will be saved at the top and be the next post to be published. Other posts already in your queue will all be bumped down one time slot.
- Schedule Draft: You will be able to choose a custom date and time in the future for the post to be shared. This will only be applicable if the draft is moved to the queue before the chosen date and time passes.
Managing draft posts
The options available when it comes to managing draft posts will depend on your level of permissions. Account owners and users with Full Posting Access are able to edit all drafts, delete all drafts, and move all drafts to the queue, while users with Approval Required Access are able to edit their own drafts, delete their own drafts, and request approval on their own drafts.
Requesting approval on a draft
As a user with Approval Required Access, you will need to request approval on your draft once you're happy with it. Simply click Request Approval. Your draft will then be moved to the Pending Approval tab.
📝 If you are the account owner or a user with Full Posting Access, you will not have the option to request approval on your drafts.
Adding a draft to the queue
As the account owner, or a user with Full Posting Access, you can move any draft from the drafts list to the queue, even if the user who created the draft has not yet requested approval. Simply click Add to Queue and it will be moved into the next available time slot in the queue.
📝 If a user with Approval Required Access has already requested approval on a post, it will appear in the Awaiting Approval tab. Account owners, and users with Full Posting Access, can review and approve the post there.
Editing a draft
If you want to make modifications to a draft, click Edit, make any changes you like and then click Save. Remember, the account owner and users with Full Posting Access can edit any drafts, while users with Approval Required Access can only edit their own.
Deleting a draft
If you'd like to remove a draft completely, click Delete and then Confirm. Remember, the account owner and users with Full Posting Access can delete any drafts, while users with Approval Required Access can only delete their own.
Draft posts that users with Approval Required Access have requested approval on will appear in the Awaiting Approval tab, where both the account owner and users with Full Posting Access are able to review and approve them.
📝 If you'd like to receive an email when a new draft is ready to review, click your profile avatar at the top right of your dashboard, followed by Preferences. From there, select the Notifications tab and toggle the "Awaiting Approval" notification to Enabled.
Approving a draft post
To approve a post right away, simply click Approve and it will be moved into the next available time slot in the queue.
Editing a draft post
If you want to make modifications to the post, click Edit, make any changes you like and then click Save. From there, you can click Approve.
Moving a draft post back to the drafts list
If you'd like to move the post back to the drafts list so that the user can continue to work on it, click Move to Drafts, and the user who created the post will receive an email notification.
📝 In order to receive the email, the user must have the "Post moved back to drafts" notification enabled. This will be enabled automatically the first time an approver sends a post back to the drafts list. This setting can be found by clicking your profile avatar at the top right of your dashboard, followed by Preferences. From there, select the Notifications tab and toggle the "Post moved back to drafts" notification to Enabled.
Deleting a draft post
If you'd like to remove the post completely, click Delete and then Confirm.