Pausing your Queue

There are occasions when you might wish to pause your Queue in order to stop posts being sent to your social media accounts. Buffer Publish has a built-in pause feature allowing you to do just that!

When your Queue is paused, all scheduled posts will also be paused and will not be sent out. Once your Queue is unpaused, the posts you had scheduled will become active again and will be placed into the next available time slots (in the original order in which they were scheduled). You will also be able to reschedule any failed posts that were scheduled for a custom date and time.

Please note, pausing is done on a per-social account basis. If you have multiple social accounts that you'd like to pause posting for, you will need to pause each Queue individually.

Desktop iOS Android

To pause your Queue, click on Settings and then select the Posting Schedule tab. From there, click Pause Queue.

Whenever your Queue is paused, you'll see a message at the top of your Queue noting that it has been paused. Whenever you'd like to unpause your Queue, simply tap Resume Queue. Alternatively, you can head back to the Posting Schedule tab to resume your Queue.

Was this article helpful?
12 out of 15 found this helpful