How to duplicate posts in Buffer
With so much content on social media now, posts can easily get missed and lost in the flow. We understand that you need to get maximum visibility.
The Duplicate feature allows you to add published posts back to your queue to share again later. Due to social networks becoming much stricter on the duplication of content, we recommend using this feature lightly and making changes to your posts before sharing them multiple times (learn why: Is it possible to schedule one post to repeat multiple times?)
:::warning There's currently a restriction that prevents Buffer from copying the text of a Facebook post when duplicating it. Your images/videos will duplicate, but your text will not duplicate. We're working to resolve this. :::
:::info Note: The Duplicate feature is not available on posts created natively on your social channels; it's only available for posts you originally published through Buffer. :::
Queue, Drafts, and All Channels
- Click the three dots in the lower right corner on the post or draft you'd like to share again and select Duplicate.
- Edit the text from the original published post and then schedule your new post.
Sent posts
-
Click the Sent tab within your publishing dashboard.
-
Click the three dots in the lower right corner on the post you’d like to share again and select Duplicate.
-
Make your content changes, then add the post to your queue.
Calendar View
- Locate the post within the calendar view.
- Click on the post and then click on the three dots in the lower right corner, then select Duplicate.
- Make your content changes, then add the post to your queue.
:::info Notes
- Are you using the Buffer mobile app? Visit: Duplicating posts on the Buffer mobile app
- For automatic, scheduled repetition of a post, check out Buffer's recurring posts feature (in Beta). Unlike duplicating (which creates a one-time copy you manually reschedule), recurring posts let you set a post to republish automatically a set number of times. Learn more about recurring posts. :::
