Changing user permissions in your organization
You may need to change user permissions from time to time in your organization. Some examples include giving a team member access to a channel you’ve recently connected, removing a user’s access to specific channels, or adding Admin access for a user.
This guide will help you edit all of your user permissions, but if you're starting from scratch, visit our article: Adding users and setting up permissions in your organization.
:::warning This feature is on our Team plan.
Note: Team member settings are only available on the web version of Buffer at this time. It is not possible to update Team settings in the Buffer mobile app. :::
Editing a user’s channel permissions
Please follow these steps to edit your user’s channel permissions.
-
Click on your profile avatar at the bottom left of your dashboard and then click Settings.
-
Choose Team from the menu.
-
Find the user you'd like to work with and click the pencil icon next to their name. (If you have more than 10 team members, you'll see a search box to search for the specific member).
-
On the screen that appears, you can add or change permissions for a specific channel using the drop down. If you'd like to grant them the same permissions for all channels (e.g. assigning permissions in bulk), use Set All.
Editing a user’s admin privileges
To add or remove admin access from a user in your organization, please follow these steps.
- Click on your profile avatar at the bottom left of your dashboard and then click Settings.
- Choose Team from the menu.
- Find the user you'd like to work with and click the pencil icon next to their name.
- Toggle Administrator ON or OFF and click Save Changes.
To completely remove a user from your organization, see the guide: Removing a user from your organization.
If you need to resend or revoke an invitation before someone has accepted it, see Managing pending invitations in our guide to adding users.
