Creating, managing, and approving draft posts on the Buffer mobile app
When you compose a post, you'll have the option to save the post as a Draft. This is helpful if you're not ready to finish the post or if you're on a Team plan, you can request approval from a team member before it is added to the queue.
:::info Looking for the web version of the Saving and scheduling draft posts or Managing and approving draft posts articles? :::
Permissions needed to work with draft posts
The options available for creating and managing draft posts will depend on your permission level.
Organization owners and users with Full Access
- Edit, delete, and move their own posts to the queue: Yes
- Approve, delete, and edit others' drafts: Yes (Team plan)
- Request approval for their own drafts: No
Users with Requires Approval access
- Edit, delete, and move their own posts to the queue: No
- Approve, delete, and edit others' drafts: No
- Request approval for their own drafts: Yes (Team plan)
Accessing draft posts
You can access your drafts by tapping Publish at the bottom of the app and then selecting the Drafts tab. Drafts that you or your team have composed on the web will also appear here.
Creating, editing, and deleting draft posts
- Tap Publish at the bottom of the app.
- Tap the green + button to open the composer.
- Start composing your post. Once you're done, select Next and then choose Save as Draft.
- If you'd like to save the draft in a specific time slot in your calendar or queue, choose Schedule as Draft.
- To make modifications or to delete a draft post, tap Edit or Delete on the draft.
Moving drafts to the queue
Account owners and users with Full Posting Access can move any draft from the drafts list directly to the queue by tapping the three dots in the bottom right corner of the post and choosing Add to Queue. Users with Approval Required access will tap Request Approval instead, and their post will land in the “Pending Approval” tab.
Managing draft posts (Team plan)
Once a user with Requires Approval access has requested approval on their drafts, they will appear in the Approvals area of the Publish tab. Both the Buffer organization owner and users with Full Access are able to review and approve drafts in this tab.
Approving a draft post
To approve a post, tap the three dots in the lower corner of the post.
- If a specific date and time were set when the post was created, you’ll see the option to Approve and Schedule Post.
- If not, you’ll see Approve and Add to Queue and the post will be placed in the next available posting slot.
Moving a draft post back to the drafts list
If you'd like to move the post back to the drafts list so the user can continue working on it, tap Move to Drafts. If they have notifications enabled, the user who created the post will receive an email notification that their post has been moved back to Drafts.
