Reconnecting a social account in Buffer Publish on the mobile app

Social accounts will become disconnected from time to time. Whilst this can be frustrating, it's good to keep in mind that this is normal behavior and is usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure.

Connections between Buffer Publish and your social accounts require access tokens, which can expire for a number of reasons, including password changes and explicit lifespans of an access token. Learn best practices for keeping your social accounts connected here.

📝 This article is is designed to help users with the Buffer mobile app. All instructions and screenshots are taken from the iOS app, and any steps that are different on Android are noted. You can find the desktop version of this article here.

  1. Tap the round avatar icon at the top left of your screen and tap on the social account you'd like to reconnect (if it's not already selected).

  2. Tap the Settings icon at the bottom right of your screen.

  3. You'll see two tabs in the Settings area — settings for the social account you have selected and "Account Settings". Ensure the first tab is selected and tap Reconnect this Account.

  4. Enter your login details and tap Authorize app.

  5. You should now be all set and can retry any failed posts in your queue.

  6. If your account still appears to be disconnected, you can try reestablishing the authorization between Buffer and the social network. Please complete the steps outlined here on desktop.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful