Getting started as a user in an Organization

If you are part of a team and you’ve been invited to Buffer Publish as a user within an Organization, this guide can help you get set up and ready to work with the social accounts you have been given permission to access.

What are "Organizations"?

Organizations are a feature that make it easier to manage social accounts and teams. As an individual Publish user, you have your own Organization (with your personal social accounts that only you have access to), and you can also be part of other Organizations as a user with different levels of permissions. 

Notes

  • You will always access an Organization’s social accounts on your own Publish dashboard and you will never need to log into another Publish account.
  • You will have access to all of the business features of that Organization — even if you have a different plan. Most users of an Organization have a Free Publish plan.

Getting your invitation

When someone invites you to their Organization, they are prompted to add your email address and set up permissions for which social accounts you can access. Buffer will then send you your email invitation. If you do not already have a Publish account, we will create one for you. The email you receive will give you instructions on how to set up your new account and set a password. If you don’t receive your email invitation, please reach out to your Organization owner and have them check the spelling of your email address. Also, check your spam and junk folders to see if the invitation may have landed there.

Permissions

Your Organization owner will set up your access to the Organization and to social accounts. You may have been invited as an Admin, which allows you to connect and reconnect social accounts and invite other users.  If you do not have full Admin access, the owner will instead give you individual access to each social account. There are two types of permissions you can have on any social account:

  • If you are invited with Approval Required Access, you will be able to create posts in Drafts, and once ready, move them to Approvals, pending review.
  • If you are invited with Full Posting Access, you will be able to create posts both directly in the queue and within Drafts. You are also able to approve posts submitted by users with Approval Required Access.

Working within your Publish dashboard

Once you’ve accepted your invitation and you’ve set up your account (if you didn’t have one already), you can now see your own individual Organization and the new Organization by navigating to your account menu. You can switch between the two Organizations depending on where you’d like to work.

Notes

  • If both Organizations have the same name (such as the default “My Organization”), you can hover over each organization to see which social accounts are connected. The owner can rename the Organization using this guide.
  • If your Organization owner hasn’t set you up with any social accounts yet, you’ll see a message saying they need to grant you access. We suggest contacting the owner and asking them to set up your permissions using this guide.

Getting started scheduling posts

If this is the first time you’ve used Publish, we recommend visiting our guide for scheduling posts. If you’ve used Publish before, keep in mind that you will have access to many other features with the Organization’s business plan that you may not have used previously if you were on a Free or Pro plan.

Working with drafts

All users, regardless of permissions, are able to create draft posts in the Drafts area. The Drafts area is great for crafting ideas for posts, as well as creating final posts that you'd like to submit for approval. The option to request approval on drafts, as well as the ability to approve draft posts, will depend on permissions. Learn more on how to create and approve draft posts here.

Connecting or reconnecting social accounts

If you have full Admin access, you can connect and reconnect social accounts within the Organization. It’s very important to be sure you’re connecting accounts in the right Organization. You can switch Organizations in the account menu as shown above. Follow this guide to learn more about connecting and reconnecting

If you notice that some of the social accounts you have access to have been locked, this will likely be because the owner of the Business plan downgraded their account. When a Business plan is downgraded, the account is moved to the Free plan, on which fewer social accounts are allowed, and additional users are not supported. This is the reason those social accounts become locked for you.

In this case, you should chat to the Business plan owner and see if they had intentionally downgraded the account. It’s possible they didn’t know that downgrading their account would stop you from being able to access those social accounts.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful