Responding to engagements

In the central area of your Buffer Reply dashboard, you'll see your list of engagements. This list will change depending on which folder you currently have selected on the left hand side. Learn more about your folders here.

Each engagement here will show the start of the message text, along with an icon indicating what type of message it is, and how long ago it arrived. You can filter your engagements by message type, and also sort by either oldest or newest first.

This article contains the following sections:

  1. Bulk updating engagements
  2. Navigating between engagements
  3. What you'll find on the right hand side of an engagement
  4. Understanding threads within an engagement
  5. Engagement actions
  6. Composer options
  7. Reply options

Bulk updating engagements

Tick the checkboxes to the left of your engagements to use the bulk actions towards the top, which include adding tags, moving engagements to other folders, changing the status, and assigning engagements to team members.

Navigating between engagements

At the top of any engagement, you'll have the option to go back to the list you were looking at, which may be the Engagement Inbox, or any of your other folders. You'll also have the option to jump to the previous or next engagement in the list.

What you'll find on the right hand side

On the right hand side of any engagement, you'll see details about user, along with options to follow or mute, and a list of any other engagements.

  • Profile image: The profile image of the user will be displayed.
  • Follow user: Follow or unfollow a Twitter user.
  • Mute user: Mute a user if you'd like to automatically send future engagements from them to the Spam folder.
  • Public data: Public data such as a link to their social account (currently only available for Twitter and Instagram), their location (if known), any websites they're linking to, and their bio.
  • Help Scout: If your Reply account is integrated with Help Scout Docs, a link to Help Scout will be displayed. Clicking on this link will take you to Help Scout Search, with the user's name already queried.
  • Other engagements: Other engagements with the user will be listed on the left hand side, which you can click on to view. Learn more about when engagements are split here.

Understanding threads within an engagement

Within the main area of the engagement view, you'll see all threads between the user and your team. Messages from users will be shown in grey and displayed on the left hand side, while replies from your team will be shown in blue and displayed in the right hand side. Internal notes added by team members will be shown in yellow, also on the right hand side.

Engagement actions

Above the Composer, you'll have the following options:

  • Tag: Add unlimited tags to the engagement. Learn more about tags here.
  • Note: Add an internal note. Only team members will see notes.
  • Move: Move the engagement to the Engagement Inbox, Spam folder, or any custom folder.
  • Status: Change the status between Open, Pending and Closed.
  • Assign: Assign the engagement to another team member.

Composer options

As well as being able to create your reply within the composer, you'll have the following options:

  • Insert emoji: Choose an emoji to accompany your reply.
  • Attach an image: Upload an image to include with your reply.
  • Insert Saved Reply: Saved Replies are pre-created responses that your team can use within their replies. Learn more about Saved Replies here.
  • Insert Help Scout Article: If your Reply account is integrated with Help Scout Docs, you can choose an article to include with your reply.
  • Include Direct Message link: Choose this option if you'd like to prompt the user to send you a DM. This option is only available if you're responding to a public Tweet.

Reply options

When you're happy with your message, you'll have a few options to choose from:

  • Reply: Send your reply and don't change the status.
  • Reply + Close: Send your reply and set the status to Closed.
  • Reply + Pending: Send your reply and set the status to Pending.
  • Reply + Close + Assign to Me: Send your reply, set the status to Closed, and assign the engagement to yourself. There is also a default option for this setting, which you can learn about here.

In all cases, you will have a 10 second window after sending the reply, in order to retract it. Simply hit Undo at the top right of your screen.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful