Browse by Topic

Why some features are not available on legacy Buffer

Overview

Some Buffer users who signed up to Buffer over 12 months ago may not be able to access our latest features: Ideas, Mastodon scheduling, and Twitter Threads. This is because these features are not available on the older legacy version of Buffer. We’re building a fast and easy way for legacy users to transfer onto the latest version of Buffer, for some customers this will be available now, but for others it won’t be available for several months.

Check here to see if you can transfer over to the latest version of Buffer today.

If you can't see the option to transfer onto the latest version of Buffer but you want to, you can do so by raising a support ticket with us.

✍️ Legacy plans include Pro, Premium, Business, and Enterprise plans.

Why can't I see Ideas, Mastodon scheduling, and Twitter Threads?

If you signed up to Buffer over 12 months ago and haven’t changed your plan since then, chances are you’re on an older instance of Buffer that we call legacy Buffer. The new version of Buffer is similar to previous version, except it comes with a different pricing plan and may include features you do not currently have access to.

In the new structure, users pay for the exact number of channels they want and get access to Analytics and Engagement on every paid plan. You can see this new pricing here.

We’re in the process of moving all of our legacy users on to the latest version of Buffer. Because of that, we haven’t made Ideas available on legacy accounts. This is the only feature that isn’t available on legacy Buffer.

When can I access Ideas, Mastodon, and Twitter Threads?

Check the upgrade hub to learn how to upgrade to the latest version of Buffer. Because this version comes with a different pricing model, you’ll also see what cost savings, or price increases you may incur. Once you’ve transferred over to the latest version of Buffer you’ll be able to access Ideas alongside some other benefits including free access to the Analytics dashboard on every paid plan, and access to our beta community.

If you can't see an option to self-upgrade, then you can upgrade earlier through our support team. Simply raise a ticket with our team and they can guide you through the upgrade process.

How do I know if I’m on a legacy version of Buffer?

Simply log in to your Buffer account and head to the Billing tab or follow this link to go directly to the Billing page. If your account is on a Pro, Premium, Business, or Enterprise plan, you are on a legacy version of Buffer.

Can I choose not to upgrade?

Of course, you won’t be forced to upgrade to the latest version of Buffer. You’re welcome to stay using the legacy version. However, you won’t be able to access newer features like Ideas, Mastodon scheduling, and Twitter Threads.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful